

SYRO-MALABAR HIERARCHY

(സീറോ-മലബാർ സഭ)

- 1. Brief Description
- 2. Bishops In Kerala
- 3. Bishops Outside Kerala



Mar Sebastian Vaniyapurackal Curia Bishop From 2017

Mar Raphael Thattil Major Archbishop From 11.01.2024

1. BRIEF DESCRIPTION

Syro-Malabar Church: Highlights

- One of the 3 Catholic Rites in India
- One of the 22 Catholic Rites of Easter Catholic Churches
- One of the 23 Catholic Rites of Universal Church
- The largest of the Saint Thomas Christian denominations
- The second largest Eastern Catholic Church

_	- The members of the Church are locally known as Surianis or Syrian Catholics or Roman			
1	Head quarters of Syro-Malabar Major Archiepiscopal Curia	Mount St Thomas, Kakkanad P.O, Kochi, Kerala, India.		
2	Establishment of Syro Malabar Hierarchy	on 21st December 1923 by the Bull "Romani Pontifices" by Pope Pius XI.		
3	Establishment of Syro-Malabar Major Archiepiscopal Church	on 16th December 1992, by Pope John Paul II		
4	First Major Archbishop of Syro-Malabar Rite	Mar Antony Cardinal Padiyara		
5	Second Major Archbishop of Syro-Malabar Rite	Mar Varkey Cardinal Vithayathil		
6	Third Major Archbishop	Mar George Alencherry		
7	Fourth and Present Major Archbishop	Mar Raphael Thattil		
8	Curia Bishop	Mar Sebastian Vaniyapurackal		
9	Official Publication of Syro-Malabar Major Archiepiscopal Curia	Synadal News		
10	Total Number of Syro-Malabar Archdioceses (including Kottayam)	5		
11	No. of Syro-Malabar Archdiocese & Dioceses in Kerala	5 + 8 = 13		
12	Number of Syro-Malabar Dioceses in Karnataka & Tamilnadu	5		
13	Number of Syro-Malabar Mission Dioceses in India	13		
14	Number of Syro-Malabar Dioceses outside India	4		
15	Number of Syro-Malabar Apostolic Visitations outside India	2		
16	Total Number of Syro-Malabar Dioceses including Archdiocese	37		

2. BISHOPS - IN KERALA

Archdiocese/Diocese		Arch Bishop / Bishop	Consecrated as Bishop	Photo of Bishop	
A. E	A. Ernakulam-Angamaly Archdiocese				
	Ernakulam-Angamaly	Mar Raphael Thattil (Major Archbishop)	2010		
1a	Ernakulam-Angamaly	Mar Joseph Pamplany (Vicar of Major Archbishop)	2017		
2	Kothamangalam	Mar George Madathikandathil	2013		
3	ldukki	Mar John Nellikunnel	2018		
B. C	hanganacherry Archd	ocese			
1a	Changanacherry	Mar Thomas Tharayil (Metropolitan Archbishop)	2017		
2	Pala	Mar Joseph Kallarangatt	2004		
3	Kanjirappilly	Mar Jose Pulickal	2016		

Ar	chdiocese/Diocese	Arch Bishop / Bishop	Consecrated as Bishop	Photo of Bishop
4	Thuckalay (Tamilnadu)	Mar George Rajendran	2012	
C. T	hrissur Archdiocese)		
1a	Thrissur	Mar Andrews Thazhath (Metropolitan Archbishop)	2004	
1b	Thrissur	Mar Tony Neelankavil (Auxiliary Bishop)	2017	
2	Palakkkad	Mar Peter Kochupurackal	2020	
3	Irinjalakuda	Mar Pouly Kannookadan	2010	

Archdiocese/Diocese		Arch Bishop / Bishop	Consecrated as Bishop	Photo of Bishop
D. T	alassery Archdioce	se		
1	Talassery	Mar Joseph Pamplany	2017	
2 a	Mananthavady	Mar Jose Porunnedom	2004	
2b	-do-	Mar Alex Tharamangalam (Auxiliary Bishop)	2022	
3	Thamarassery	Mar Remigiose Inchananiyil	2010	
E. K	ottayam Archdiocese			
1a	Kottayam	Mar Mathew Moolakatt (Metropolitan Archbishop)	1999	
1b	-do-	Mar Jose Pandarassery (Auxiliary Bishop)	2006	
1c	-do-	Mar Gheevarghese Aphrem (Auxiliary Bishop)	2020	

	chdiocese/Diocese	Arch Bishop / Bishop	Consecrated as Bishop	Photo of Bishop	
	3. BISHOPS - OUTSIDE KERALA				
A. K	arnataka - Talassery A	rchdiocese			
1	Belthangady	Mar Lawrence Mukkuzhy	1999		
2	Bhadravathi	Mar Joseph Arumachadath MCBS	2007		
3	Mandya	Mar Sebastian Adayanthrath	2002		
В. І	amilnadu			-1074	
1	Thuckalay (Changanacherry Archdiocese)	Mar George Rajendran	2012		
2	Ramanadhapuram (Thrissur Archdiocese)	Mar Paul Alapatt	2010		
	lission Dioceses				
1) W	Adilabad (Hyderabad / AP)	Mar Prince Antony Panengaden (Administrator)	2015		
2	Bijnor (Agra / Uttarakand)	Mar Vincent Nellaiparambil	2019		

Ar	chdiocese/Diocese	Arch Bishop / Bishop	Consecrated as Bishop	Photo of Bishop
3	Chanda (Nagpur/Chatti	Mar Ephrem Nariculam	2014	
4	Gorakhpur (Agra/UP)	Mar Mathew Nellikunnel CST	2023	
5	Jagadalpur (Raipur/Chattisgarh)	Mar Joseph Kollamparampil CMI	2013	
6	Rajkot (Gandhinagar / Gurarat)	Mar Jose Chittooparambil CMI	2010	
7	Sagar (Bhopal)	Mar James Athikalam MST	2018	
8	Satna (Bhopal/MP)	Mar Joseph Kodakallil	2015	
9	Ujjain (Bhopal/MP)	Mar Sebastian Vadakkel MST	1998	

	chdiocese/Diocese	Arch Bishop / Bishop	Consecrated as Bishop	Photo of Bishop		
II) E	ii) Exempt jurisdictions					
1	Kalyan (Bombay / Maharashtra)	Mar Thomas Elavanal MCBS	1997			
2a	Faridabad (Delhi)	Mar Kuriakose Bharanikulangara	2012			
2b	-do-	Mar Jose Puthenveettil (Auxiliary Bishop)	2013			
3	Hosur (Tamilnadu)	Mat Sebastian Pozholiparambil	2017			
4a	Shamshabad (Hyderabad / Telangana)	Mar Prince Antony Panengaden	2015			
4b	-do-	Mar Joseph Kollamparambil (Auxiliary Bishop)	2022			
4c	-do-	Mar Thomas Padiyath (Auxiliary Bishop)	2022			

	0					
Archdiocese/Diocese		Arch Bishop / Bishop	Consecrated as Bishop	Photo of Bishop		
Mission Dioceses in outside India						
1	Chicago Diocese (Chicago/USA)	Mar Joy Alapatt	2014			
2	Eparchy of Melbourne (Melbourne / Australia)	John Panamthottathil CMI	2023			
3	Eparchy of Great Britain (Britain/UK)	Mar Joseph Srampickal	2015			
4	Mississauga diocese (Canada) (Apostolic Exarchate from 2015 to 2018, Diocese from 2018)	Mar Jose Kalluvelil	2015			
Apo	stolic Visitations (Out	side India)				
1	Europe	Mar Stephen Chirappanath Apostolic Visitator	2016			
2	Australia, New Zealand	Mar John Panamthottathil CMI	2023			